Last week I made two new things I had been wanting to try.  One is really simple and healthy and the other is like a Korean version of fried chicken…only you fry your tofu.

First up Jap Chae! Don’t let the complicated picture fool you.  It literally took me about half an hour to make and its uber healthy and delicious.  I didn’t have any spinach on hand and I had some eggplant and zucchini in the fridge so I did a little substituting. I also didn’t cut down my veggies quite as far as I should have but I was lazy and I really don’t think it made a difference.

I love glass noodles and had some left over from when I made a bul go gi soup and really wanted to find a good light recipe to add them to. This was the one.  I ate on it for a few days too which is always helpful.

Next up the lovely and delicious Tofu JoRim.

This was delicious.  It is meant to be eaten as a side so you need rice, kimchi, and some other delicious treats to go along with it.  I ate it on its own but the Korean teachers at school quickly let me know I should have been having rice with it.  Again didn’t take me very long to make.  The only thing I would do differently is use a light soy sauce.  It pretty much doesn’t exist here at all, but for those of you that want to try and it and are lucky enough to be in the vicinity of some I would highly recommend it. Its also a dish that has no spice in it, so if you want Korean food but aren’t a fan of spice this would be a good easy skill level recipe to try.  I added pepper flakes to mine.  It’s awful pretty much unless food has spice to it I feel like its just not edible anymore.  It just tastes bland and weird.  Thanks Korea.

I was just talking to my mom about how I have beautiful peppers in my fridge and no idea what to do with them.  Normally I would make a yummy stuffed Mexican chicken and cheese stuffed mix but since I have no oven that just isn’t feasible.

So, we had this conversation:

Me: I have a big yellow pepper in my fridge. What should I make with it? I’m out of ideas.

Mom: I don’t know.

Me: Well, I have other veggies too, eggplant, zucchini, carrots, potatoes, onion, and stuff. What should I make?

Mom: Well do you have rice? Make a stir fry.

Me: Is that a real question? Do I have rice? Mom, I am living in the land of rice. there are 4 different words for the word rice in Korean. 4!

 

Not sure whats up next maybe some eggplant bokkeum, or curry bap, and eventually even some kimchi.

 

