This weekend was by far one of my favorites in Seoul so far. I feel like they just keep getting better. Also, I can’t take credit for any photos in this entry. I took them all from Eileen because she was smart and took a camera, and I didn’t.

Yesterday I met up with coworkers and headed to Cheonggye. We were invited by our company to see Jump! I have spent the last 3 weeks thinking that this was a musical. One that was in New York and was now touring here. Yes, it is what we all thought because that makes sense to Americans. Boy were we ever wrong and in for a treat.

Jump, click the link for more information. Essentially though it was a martial arts performance with a storyline. It was really good and super funny. There was no singing but there were some pretty awesome martial arts action going on. There was one scene that needed audience participation. Well of course Rob, a tall American, got chosen to go on stage.  He was a good sport about it though and won some free merchandise. I was actually kind of jealous. The kids were all sitting up front and you could hear them laughing. It was so contagious.  By the end of the show I had tears in my eyes from laughing so hard. I am not usually one for slapstick humor but their presentation was phenomenal.

This picture is of all the teachers at my academy. They are all really great.

The area we were in is also where the lantern festival started, so we got to see the floats and they were beautiful.  I feel awful for not taking my camera but I completely forgot. I was planning on going today but the weather got bad and way too cold for my liking. You will just have to imagine how pretty they were and I will for sure take pictures of the one in the Spring. 🙂

Next, we went to dinner.  All of the branches of my academy were invited. I think there are six or so branches.  We went to a buffet that was called Sky Lounge. It was on the 30th floor of a building and had an absolutely beautiful view. I tried new foods like baby octopus and stingray. Not a huge fan of either simply because of the texture. They tasted fine though. I also got to meet the owner of the company, who is also the company’s namesake. He was really nice and making jokes.  We thanked him for the night out and such before heading to meet up with others for a friend’s birthday.

and this is a view from the top floor where we had dinner.

I decided along the way to revert back to some old habits I once had in Europe.  Anytime there were 5 or 6 advert posters in a row posted on a building if I liked it I would take one down, roll it up, and stick it in my bag. I now have 3 lovely new decorative posters hanging on the walls not making them look quite so dull. Then we continued on to a night with many laughs and lots of dancing.

All in all things are going great here!

