Last Sunday I was able to join with another set of wonderful people for Thanksgiving part 2.

I arrived to see this little apartment all set up for a feast, and a feast it was indeed.

The other side of the room looked like a mirror image of this one. And the ‘tables’ are actually Sarah’s bed with the mattress removed and the bed frame separated. I thought it was a super smart way to accommodate everyone.

They ordered the turkey and most of the dinner from one of the army bases here. Another great idea. So Sarah told them that we needed a big turkey to feed like 30 people. So she talked him into trading us three small turkeys for the biggest turkey that they sell with the meals, which they usually dont let off base.

It literally even said BIG TURKEY on it. and seriously, it was the biggest turkey I have ever seen in my life.

And it was delicious. Thank you Army. There literally were over 30 people in and out eating food and we still only conquered a little over half of the bird.

The spread from my seat. Dressing, cranberry sauce, rolls, turkey, salad, gravy….so much good food. I ate myself silly.

Round one. and the dressing was very different than what I am used to but it was so good it didn’t even matter. However, I am looking forward to Thanksgiving normal style with the family next year.

And what is a post without telling you an Allison quirk. So, my family knows, or should know, I really, really, really  hate it when my foods mix. Like it kind of drives me crazy the whole time I am eating. So when I had a moment of trying to save my sweet potatoes from the gravy and failed and clearly looked flustered the girl next to me made a comment about how I was one of ‘those people.” why yes. yes I am. I just don’t like things mixing. I like to eat one thing at a time around my plate. It is weird but that is just how I work. Anyway, this is all to say I made a big step Sunday. I reused a plate. I reused plates for food no problem but dinner and dessert on the same plate. NEVER. I did it though. I pulled through. I also used a roll like a sponge and cleaned it pretty well, but that is besides the point.

yummy pumpkin pie from Costco.

They were not sure how much food they were going to be getting from the base so they had everyone bring extra so there was so much more food than anyone could eat and my mashed potatoes were never opened so I brought them home and looked up recipes for left overs. I found some good stuff and made some amazing potato soup! Yay holiday season.

 

