Finally. It felt for a  long time like winter would never end and then it did.  Spring was very short lived here and now summer is on in full force.  I am not complaining, but the beautiful weather does have the sneaky effect of making you magically forget how awful winter was so that you fall in love with the city again.

This past weekend I spent as much time outside as possible.  I had a nice long weekend since Monday was Korea’s Memorial Day and I didn’t have to work. yay. Friday night after work I went to the movies with the girls and we walked home.  We have been walking to and from Nowon a lot lately and its really nice.  We have also been spending a lot of time walking down by the river.  It is super nice and they have been planting and painting and just doing some awesome beautification there.

Saturday Rachel and I went to Hangdae to try and catch music in the park and just walk around.  It’s a super nice area and I enjoyed being there and not being in a club with a ton of people.

There was a silent disco in the park so I took some photos.  I have totally always wanted to do one of these and while we couldn’t last Saturday as soon as they schedule another one I am totally in. Basically everyone gets wireless headphones and a DJ is playing music and only the people with headphones can hear it. So you see this sea of people dancing but you don’t hear a sound.  I think its  a really awesome idea.

These guys were awesome.  they were just jamming out in the park.  It reminded me a lot of being  in Asheville which was super nice. Then crazy 80s guy and drum guy went to jam with another drummer.

and crazy 80s guy definitely was playing the whistle…yep …the whistle. it was ridiculous.

 

Saturday I went with Rachel, Sara, and Jessica to watch Jessica’s boyfriend, Jackie, play soccer.  Jackie is such a super awesome guy.  He is a very atypical Korean man.

The park was beautiful that their field was in.

Then after the game we went out with all the guys to this chicken place.  The food and soju were never ending.  We did have these amazingly awful for you just delicious battered and fried french fries.  The guys were all sooo nice and funny.  They had minimal English and we have minimal Korean.  Dennis and Jackie were translating sometimes, but for the most part it was just gesturing and laughing and drinking.  It was soooo much fun.

They wanted to take group shots and I was more than happy to oblige. We are planning on having dinner again with them soon. After dinner, Jackie was even so awesome that he drove us all the way home.  By subway it would have taken us 2 hours, and even driving it took about an hour.

Also, here to get on major highways at major exits there are police stationed at night and before you can enter the highway you have to take a breathalyzer test.  I think its really smart and must cut back on the amount of alcohol related accidents that occur here.

Then on Sunday I spent most of the afternoon up on the roof with Sara chatting about things.  It was a good time, but now I look like a tomato…a sad tomato.

 

