I have been craving summer vegetables recently.  Sadly, some of my favorites I can’t get in Korea like yellow squash, green beans, and asparagus.  Well, you can get asparagus buuuut it’s one million dollars sooo basically you can’t get it.

Anyway, I started looking for summer vegetable recipes.  I found this recipe and adapted it to what I had here and what I like best. I also found beef on sale for wicked cheap last week so I added that just because I have been working out more lately and need the protein boosts.

I started by stewing some tomatoes.  I hate when I get skin pieces in my soup soooo I blanched in hot water and cold water and it peeled right off. I also used canned tomatoes so I only used a handful of fresh ones.

Then I chopped some veggies

First, the onions and garlic. I added that to a pot with the meat, cumin, chili powder, cayenne pepper, salt, black pepper, and a little bit of paprika.

I sauteed and stirred and it smelled just like the beginnings of most dishes my mom makes so I knew I was headed in the right direction.

Then I chopped and added all the other veggies I wanted.

Carrot, red bell pepper, celery, zucchini, and spicy pepper.

I added them in and mixed and cooked some more.

Finally, I added a can of rinsed kidney beans, a can of diced tomatoes, and a can of water.  Then I let it all boil and cook until the vegetables were soft.

Super delicious!

Korean food is perfect for winter. Hearty and healthy.  Other than a couple of dishes though I don’t feel like there aren’t a lot of light summery dishes.  and I know hot soup isn’t really either, but I just wanted a break from Korean food and this is a healthy way to do it.

